Tags

, ,

IMG_20151210_213047

I am a nostalgic person.

I have a hard time giving up on things, of saying goodbye and letting them go. And by things I don’t necessarily mean physical things in the literal sense of the word.

Over the last couple of years, helped by moving into a new flat, traveling, finishing my university degrees and a continuous, if often subliminal interest in minimalism, I have trained myself to let go of objects. It wasn’t easy, and if I said that fight was completely over, I’d be lying. But I have come to a certain standstill, an equilibrium where I no longer feel like my life is filled with useless crap that I don’t even know where it comes from. I have enough, and in the rare occasions that I feel like my things are turning into too much, I know how to react (usually with throwing out and filing paper).

So, when I say that I’m a nostalgic person, I’m not talking about objects. Mostly, I am talking about projects. Because I have a much harder time letting go of those.

I have folders filled with unfinished writing projects. I have lists of ideas for more. I have a whole plethora of half-abandoned internet projects (which is why I kept this post). I have over a hundred unread or unfinished books. I have so many things I want to do and learn.

This blog is one of them; and so is the reason for coming back to it.

Over the last couple of months, I have had time to think about what I’m doing in the time that I’m not working on my PhD. I have found answers, some of which I like (a lot of reading, meeting with friends, traveling, museums and the like), some of which I don’t (way too much time spent on tumblr being the most obvious choice). Among other things, I have also realised how much I miss talking and thinking critically about the things I enjoy: Mostly books, but also various movies, TV series, and pop culture. I can do some of that on tumblr (and I love my various fandoms on there), but it is not a platform that lends itself particularly well to writing. Texts, especially longer ones, often get lost among hundreds of gifs, vines and pretty pictures.

So, I came back here. I’m not sure I have a definite concept for this blog yet (I’m not even sure I ever will), but I have some ideas what I want to share on here. I want to write more; that is my first premise. I want to share whatever I come across and like, be it books, TV shows, museum exhibitions, art or music; that is my second premise. I want to reflect on my life, my creativity, my writing; that is my third premise. Beyond that, we will see.

