Tags

, ,

This post was written about a year ago for another blog where I was concerned with decluttering and my journey towards minimalism. This blog died, but the thoughts I voiced here are still relevant to me. The entry is not edited in any way, although I’d probably not use the same didactic tone I used in this entry (and it’s follow up, which I will re-post shortly) where I to write it today.

~~~

I think one of the easiest things to do when starting on the minimalist road is to declutter. At any rate, in many guidelines on becoming a minimalist, it’s advertised as one of the first steps. That is not to say that throwing things out is easy. Quite the contrary. Very often it requires a lot of determination and effort to let go of the things that have become a part of one’s life one way or another. But it is still an easy step because it’s just so obvious. Physical clutter is visible, and in most cases the steps to get rid of it are very straightforward. Throw it out. Return it. Recycle it. Sell it. Whatever.

There’s very little problem analysis needed to do the first step; that comes later. When we ask ourselves how all that clutter ended up in our lives in the first place. When we ask ourselves what fears hold us back and what it is that makes us keep so many things “just in case.” But that, like I said, is not the first step.

I, too, start with that first step, decluttering. It’s quite satisfying to throw out things and to carry all that unnecessary rubbish to the trash bin. It’s also a rather quick fix for the need to get something done. What is hard is going on with the more difficult tasks later on. That is, I fear, what I really need to work on.

